Sachin congratulates Suryakumar, Ishan Kishan, Rahul Tewatia on India selection

India legend Sachin Tendulkar congratulated young Indian cricketers Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan and Rahul Tewatia on earning their maiden international call-ups for the T20I series against England. Sachin also extended his wishes to Varun Chakravarthy, who was earlier picked for the T20 squad in Australia but missed out due to a shoulder injury.

BCCI announced a 19-man squad for the upcoming 5-match T20I series against England, starting on March 12. Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan and Rajasthan Royal all-rounder Rahul Tewatia also earned maiden call-ups for the T20I series next month.

Yadav, Tewatia and Kishan, who put on some of the most sparkling batting displays during last year’s IPL which ended shortly before India flew to Australia.

“Heartiest congratulations @ishankishan51, @rahultewatia02 & @surya_14kumar for your maiden call up to the Indian Team, and also to @chakaravarthy29, who missed out in Australia. Playing for India is the highest honour for any cricketer. Wishing you all a lot of success,” Tendulkar tweeted.

Jasprit Bumrah has been rested while Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who missed a significant part of the IPL due to a thigh injury, returns to the national team. Manish Pandey and Ravindra Jadeja, Sanju Samson and Mayank Agarwal – all part of the T20 squad that toured Australia – have missed out. Chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav has also not been picked.

India’s T20I squad for England: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Axar Patel, W Sundar, R Tewatia, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep, Shardul Thakur.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *